Thursday, April 26, 2007

Nick Jones New traffic commissioner for Wales

The Secretary of State has appointed two new traffic commissioners. Sarah Bell has been appointed as traffic commissioner for the Western Area with effect from 12 June 2007. Nick Jones has been appointed as traffic commissioner for the West Midlands and Welsh traffic areas with effect from 1 May 2007. -

Sarah Bell will replace Philip Brown who transfers to the South Eastern and Metropolitan Area from 1 May 2007, replacing Christopher Heaps who will be retiring on 30 April. Nick Jones replaces David Dixon who retired on 31 March.

Geoffrey Simms retired as traffic commissioner for the Eastern Traffic Area on 31 March. This post is currently vacant and will be readvertised shortly.

1. Traffic commissioners are responsible for regulation of the road haulage and passenger transport industries. They administer the licensing system for operators of heavy goods vehicles and public service vehicles. They determine the fitness of drivers of these vehicles to hold vocational licences. They administer the bus registration system for local bus services and can take action against operators who fail to run services in accordance with registered particulars. They also hear appeals against impounding of illegally used heavy goods vehicles.

2. Traffic commissioners are appointed to one of eight traffic areas - six in England and one each in Wales and Scotland. Nick Jones will act as commissioner for two areas ( West Midlands and Welsh ) in continuation of an established practice.

Public Enquiries: 020 7944 8300
Department for Transport Website: